Defending Against A Charge Of DWI/DUI

An arrest on suspicion of drinking and driving can affect your driving privileges and even result in a jail sentence. You need an experienced criminal defense attorney to make sure that your rights are protected before you hastily accept a plea bargain and all the headaches that come with it.

Any disposition of your case other than an acquittal will result in a conviction that will remain on you record forever. IF YOU AGREE TO OR RECEIVE PROBATION, THAT IS A CONVICTION WHICH CANNOT BE EXPUNGED OR SEALED. DWI PROBATION is a conviction that will remain on your record FOREVER!

Working To Save Your Driver's License

Many people do not realize that, in Texas, an arrest for DWI does not automatically mean you lose your driver's license. Instead, you have the right to request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing to contest your license suspension. This request for a hearing to contest your driver's license suspension must be received by the Texas Department of Public Safety no later than the 15th day after your arrest.

More importantly, this hearing is crucial to your defense in the DWI criminal case. Because the proceeding is related to your criminal case, you get earlier access to evidence that could get the charges reduced.

DWI Probation

If you are placed on probation for DWI, you will be required to report to a Probation Officer each month for the entire time you're on probation and pay probation fees for the privilege. You will be required to pay a fine of not more than $2,000.00 for a DWI 1 st conviction and not more than $4,000.00 for a DWI 2 nd conviction, payable in installments during the term of probation.

If you are convicted for a DWI 3 rd or more you could go to prison for anywhere from two to 10 years and be fined up to $10,000.00.

Other Civil Penalties for DWI conviction

After a conviction for DWI the Texas Department of Public Safety will assess a surcharge of at least $1,000.00 each year for three (3) consecutive years. Normally, the TDPS will notify each convicted person within ten (10) days from the date a judgment of conviction was entered. Failure to pay the surcharge will result in an automatic suspension of your driver's license without notice. If you are already suspended, you are still required to pay the surcharge assessed before your license can be reinstated.

Don't Wait To Take Action

Time is of the essence. After you are arrested, you have just 15 days to request an ALR hearing. If you wait beyond the 15th day, your license will be suspended, and that suspension could be for up to two years. Additionally, you will owe reinstatement fees to the Texas Department of Public Safety (TDPS) before your driving privileges will be restored. The Texas Department of Public Safety does not send you notices advising of what needs to be done or when. You need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Your best chance to keep your license and minimize other punishments is to call me as soon as possible after your arrest.

Experienced DWI Defense

Whether this is your first DWI arrest, or you have prior convictions on your record, I will provide solid, effective criminal defense representation. For a free initial consultation with me about your case, please call 940-531-5370, or email me through this website.